Solved

Issue with maps on the tyre software


  • Legendary Explorer
  • 7 replies

I posted a question on here last night about an issue with tyre pro. This was bundled by tomtom with my recent purchase of a rider 400. There was an issue where the maps came up, map points but no blue line, turns out its something to do with Google, it seems to be fixed now. Anyway my confusion was led by the fact that my post was pulled as i was talking about a third party product. Even though this was suggested by tomtom and part of the deal which basically give me the software for free. What also leads to the confusion is that if you do a search you get lots of threads on here about tyre route planning. am i to understand that under help where the forum is, that you are only allowed to talk about tomtom issues and their software.

I assume tomtom teamed up with tyre poor to give the offer as the tomtom route planning is quite poor at the moment, with 3 parts and all 3 parts allowing you to do certain things, others suggested using tyre when panning routes. Is the forum here not to help other users and ask questions when you are stuck, i dont understand what you can and cannot do. I guess its ok for tomtom to suggest downloading the program as long as we dont ask a question about it
icon

Best answer by YamFazMan 8 September 2017, 16:34

Hi

KeredH wrote:

Thanks again for the reply.
Sadly my drive does not do what other (not allowed to say who) route planners can do. for example, drop and drag the routes.

Do you mean.....
Drag & Drop to "Load the routes" into the MyDriveWeb (v2) Route planner, that's a "No"... Import .GPX file using the menu system

Use Drag & Drop to create routes that a "Yes" 🙂
With a basic route planned... Hover the mouse pointer over the route, when a white appears... Left Click the Mouse, Drag the route, when route path auto snaps to the desired position releases the mouse button

ATB YFM

View original comment

13 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +6
Hi Kered,

I'm sorry for the confusion!

We do indeed include the Tyre with our Rider products as it's proven to be a popular combination. Tyre, however, is not our product and we don't officially support it. In general, we don't allow discussions of 3rd party products here, but Tyre is somewhat in a grey area. As it is a popular product among our Rider users, you might well find help here. However, you might also try the TyreToTravel website for more dedicated support.

Cheers, Mikko
KeredH, did you find a forum to ask about tyre?
Userlevel 7
Badge +1
Hi
The problem with Tyre to Travel not showing the planned route is now working OK for me 🙂

ATB YFM
Hi ztech6, no not as such but did start a ticket with Tyre who informed me that it was an issue with google
MikkoK wrote:

Hi Kered,

I'm sorry for the confusion!

We do indeed include the Tyre with our Rider products as it's proven to be a popular combination. Tyre, however, is not our product and we don't officially support it. In general, we don't allow discussions of 3rd party products here, but Tyre is somewhat in a grey area. As it is a popular product among our Rider users, you might well find help here. However, you might also try the TyreToTravel website for more dedicated support.

Cheers, Mikko



Thanks for the reply, I do appreciate that it is a 3rd party product but it also fills an area that current tomtom software does not cover, hence the reason i guess why tomtom bundles it. I am sure though you would agree that this forum is to help the tomtom user first and foremost. I have been a loyal supporter of tomtom products even before you had dedicated satnavs and paid for the first software on psion. I think the screen is the best paid out of all the satnavs currently out there. But when I ask for help, I think tomtom should be more sympathetic than just remove a genuine question. Please remember tha toehr users would also be having the same issue. Please keep up the good work tomtom but be a little more flexible in future
YamFazMan wrote:

Hi
The problem with Tyre to Travel not showing the planned route is now working OK for me 🙂

ATB YFM



Thanks for your comment, i can confirm that mine is now running properly again
Userlevel 7
Badge +6
Hi Kered,

I see what you mean. One reason we have a user forum is that users are able to help each other without being bothered by TomTom's support boundaries 😃 That being said, this is a TomTom Community for discussing TomTom products.

Speaking of which, have you tried our MyDrive Route Planner? It's being constantly improved with frequent updates and is quite a capable tool already 😃 For more information and troubleshooting tips for MyDrive, please see this FAQ.

Cheers, Mikko
Thanks again for the reply.

Sadly my drive does not do what other (not allowed to say who) route planners can do. for example drop and drag the routes.
Userlevel 7
Badge +1
Hi
KeredH wrote:

Thanks again for the reply.
Sadly my drive does not do what other (not allowed to say who) route planners can do. for example, drop and drag the routes.

Do you mean.....
Drag & Drop to "Load the routes" into the MyDriveWeb (v2) Route planner, that's a "No"... Import .GPX file using the menu system

Use Drag & Drop to create routes that a "Yes" 🙂
With a basic route planned... Hover the mouse pointer over the route, when a white appears... Left Click the Mouse, Drag the route, when route path auto snaps to the desired position releases the mouse button

ATB YFM
sadly the 'third party software' it's working again !!
is there a link to MyDrive route planner please?
I am still having this issue with Tyre and have tried it on 2 different computers. The waypoints come up but no line connecting them. Tom Tom may not own it but if they design the Tom Tom to use it they should get involved and help get it fixed.
Userlevel 3
Badge
Simmo 1960 wrote:

I am still having this issue with Tyre and have tried it on 2 different computers. The waypoints come up but no line connecting them. Tom Tom may not own it but if they design the Tom Tom to use it they should get involved and help get it fixed.



map area, top left, hit calculate to get the lines. (the map area has icons top left to right, and top left down, )
Userlevel 7
Badge +1
ztech6 wrote:

sadly the 'third party software' isn't working again !!
is there a link to the MyDrive route planner, please?

Hi
MyDriveWeb (v2) Route planner
https://mydrive.tomtom.com

Have a look at the MyRoute-App... Free or Subscription versions
https://www.myrouteapp.com/en

ATB YFM

Reply

    Cookies

    At TomTom, we're all about helping you get around. That's why we use cookies to improve our sites, to offer information based on your interests and to interact with social media. If you're OK with this, you can continue using our sites. Allow Learn more or manage preferences

    Allow