Solved

How do I stop the same destination being automatically selected on 2 devices linked to the same account?


My girlfriend and I share a GO 5200 and a 6200. They are both linked to the same account, so the same POIs and routes can be viewed and used on each. This generally works well.

However, we've recently noticed that if we select a destination on one of them, the other automatically seems to have the same destination selected. And if we cancel the route, it also changes on the other.

This means it's not possible for both of us to use a device each, at the same time. This was particularly frustrating yesterday when I was just a couple of miles from my destination and needed final directions, just as my girlfriend set off on her journey, and I suddenly found myself being directed somewhere quite different!

Is there any way to prevent the active navigation route/destination of one unit, from affecting what the other unit is doing?

Thanks,
Adam
icon

Best answer by YamFazMan 10 January 2019, 18:36

Hi
@AdamPar

You can have multiple devices on one Account
Login into your devices using the same Email & password the MyDrive Web Route planner will sync your data to both devices

Important be aware... If both units are likely to be in operation at the same time
See... https://en.discussions.tomtom.com/mydrive-connect-apps-474/three-go-600-s-and-mydrive-sync-1026193/index1.html#post1180163

ATB YFM

View original comment

2 replies

Userlevel 7
Badge +2
Hi
@AdamPar

You can have multiple devices on one Account
Login into your devices using the same Email & password the MyDrive Web Route planner will sync your data to both devices

Important be aware... If both units are likely to be in operation at the same time
See... https://en.discussions.tomtom.com/mydrive-connect-apps-474/three-go-600-s-and-mydrive-sync-1026193/index1.html#post1180163

ATB YFM
Thanks for the really quick reply, YamFazMan!

Yeah, the workaround in the other thread would work, so we'll have to just get into the habit of logging out of one of the units if we want to use them simultaneously.

Although it does seem a really bizarre restriction. It's not at all clear why setting the destination locally on a GPS unit, should need to sent that to the server (and other units) at all. I'd be interested to understand TomTom's reasoning behind this.

But we can live with it...just!

Cheers,
Adam

Reply

    Cookies

    At TomTom, we're all about helping you get around. That's why we use cookies to improve our sites, to offer information based on your interests and to interact with social media. If you're OK with this, you can continue using our sites. Allow Learn more or manage preferences

    Allow Cookie settings